Style: The end of the makeup ban…

As the post is titled I’m contemplated the end of my makeup ban and since I did cheat a couple of weeks ago and bought a couple of things, but I haven’t used them yet I’m considering ending it.  I haven’t decided completely but at this point I won’t consider myself on a ban and I probably won’t be running out to buy a considerable amount of products anytime soon, though there are things I’ve been looking at getting.

I admit that I’m one of those people that will contemplate over things for hours on end before inevitably deciding to give in or give up. In some cases, the decision gets made for me. For example ,  I liked Valentino’s Rock’n’Rose perfume well enough when it first came out but could never justify spending that much on a perfume especially when at the time I hardly wore perfume.  It’s been a couple of years since the release and they have stopped carrying it at many places, I thought that I would get it at Ulta after the holidays, but when I checked recently it vanished again 😦 If you know where I can find it let me know I wouldn’t mind owning it.

Let’s commence with the product’s I’ve finished and the reviews:

1.  Josie Maran Bare Naked Wipes Travel size

Aside from the orange smell I actual did like these wipes. Josie Maran’s commitment to protect the environment is amazing. They actually did get all my makeup off and made my face feel really clean. I happened to finish the travel size because it was a 100 point sample from my Sephora the last time I went in there. I would possibly purchase this in the normal size if it came in different scents.

2.  Maybelline Dream Mousse Concealer

I actually cheat during a trip to target and already repurchased this. I really like this concealer definitely more than my Makeup Forever. It’s smooth creaminess actually blends in my blemishes so they are not noticeable and gives my face a pretty matte look canceling out the redness around my nose. It also works wonders on my under eye circles and has little to no creasing unlike some concealers. Is it a holy grail for me? That will be known in time…

3. Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser

I apologize for the poor lighting in my room. This cleanser came highly recommend by nearly everyone and honestly I’m not sure why. I don’t think that it really cleaned my skin.  I picked the one for oily skin because I do have combination oily skin and am quite prone to breakouts. I will possibly elaborate on this in a future post. This cleanser somewhat cleansed my skin but at times it felt like I had to work twice as hard to get it clean and even at that it sometimes didn’t feel completely clean. I like my skin to feel squeaky clean like you when you wake up in the morning, but using this my skin never quite felt that way. Am I repurchasing this again? Most definitely not you can keep your recommendation for now.

4.Peter Thomas Roth Acne Spot Treatment

This product came in a kit and as much as I appreciate parts of the starter kit, I won’t be repurchasing this. The smell of sulfur or something isn’t my thing and the thought of putting it on my face kind of grosses me out. Also there are several other products on the market drugstore and high end that do exactly what you do minus the smell. The product also wasn’t as strong as I hoped it would be which could or could not be a downside to my skin.

5. Nars Sheer Glow in Stomboli

I admittedly caved into all the raves about the product and broke down and bought it. The review that sent me over the edge was Raeview’s review on the difference between the Sheer Glow and the Sheer Matte. I know the bottle looks full in the picture, but it’s not I really did try to get the last bits of the product out jamming it against my hand and what not. I was almost tempted to try Michelle Phan’s lipgloss saving method to see if it would work on this foundation, but got really worried that the bottle would break, perhaps on my next bottle. I really did love this foundation. I loved the coverage it gave me and the way I looked in it. I did a pretty good job of matching myself at Sephora and that’s considering I had a weird experience getting matched at MAC. The foundation lasted me about 7-8 months of regular use since I use so little. Am I going to repurchase this again? Yes, most definitely! I love the coverage and I am currently missing it but am using the other foundations I have at the moment.

Hope you are doing well on Project Pan and New Year Resolutions 🙂

Leave a Reply

