Monthly Questions: Happy 2012!

P1020165-1

*Questions taken from Being Brazen

1. For me, 2011 was the year of… changes and having too much fun!

2. I spent my New years Eve... with a family dinner eating traditional Okinawan food and then watching the fireworks from the highest place possible with KonaBoy 🙂

3. This year my 4 biggest goals are… get healthier and fitter, get more organized, stay in love and have amazing adventures
4. Do you believe that the world will end in 2012? I really hope not!
5. What have you been reading over your Dec/Jan holiday? Finished Will Grayson/Will Grayson, semi-reading the Starter Wife and With a Little Luck (reviews all coming soon!)
6. What’s the best item you got or bought last year? tangible item would be my Sigma brushes I think, intangible item would probably be my new boss
7. If you could only buy one luxury item this year, what would it be? A trip to Okinawa with my ‘rents *fingers crossed*
8. I hope this new year is… amazing goodness and continued surprises!!!

This first week of the new year has been so busy and so full of changes! I’m seriously so excited and ecstatic about everything I’m going to burst! I still have a few posts from last year that I need to finish and post, but I seriously can not wait for this year! The photo at the beginning of the post is of a kadomatsu, which my friend made. Here’s the meaning of the kadomatsu taken from the Japanese Cultural Center website:

 

The Kadomatsu, “gate pine,” display dates back to the Edo period of Japan. The arrangement is made of pine sprigs, bamboo and plum blossoms that are tied together with cord. The matsu (pine) symbolizes constancy, vitality and longevity, and the bamboo represents strength and flexibility. Plum blossoms can also be used in the arrangement, representing new beginnings, purity and sweetness. The size of the kadomatsu may vary according to the entry way.
The kadomatsu is usually displayed on both sides of an entrance way, one representing a female (the smooth surface of the pine) and the other representing the male (the rough bark). People in Hawai‘i often display and discard the kadomatsu according to the customs of their families around the seventh day of January which signifies the end of the New Year festivities.

I can’t wait to tell you about my adventures this year and about some of my goals for this year. How was your new year’s?
Leave a Reply

