Random: Cookie Dough Dip and Pesto

So the other week I got a craving to cook well sort of. At work there was a party coming up and I’d been dying to try making cookie dough dip, but since I have my friend’s wedding quickly approaching I needed to watch the calories, nothing major though.  I found a recipe for Healthy Cookie Dough Dip made with Chia, so I decided to take a gander and try it. Here’s a link to the recipe if you’re interested. I thought it turned out pretty good.

P1020412-1

In addition to wanting to making Cookie Dough Dip for the party. I have also been dying to make pesto for the longest time. Thankfully though I was able to get a ton of basil from my cousin who grew some for his science project.  He was testing the  power of aquaponics vs. regular soil. The aquaponics basil grew better in case you were wondering. I had enough basil to make two different batches of pesto. The first pictured is Macadamia Nut Pesto. I got my recipe here. I ended up substituting some of the olive oil with grape seed oil because I didn’t have enough, but I don’t think that made a difference with the recipe though. I also used a blender instead of a food processor, but I would definitely recommend the food processor.

The second pesto pictured is regular pesto featuring the Kevin Pearce family recipe seen here. This recipe calls for pine nuts. I like both recipes about the same. The second one does not look as good because I didn’t blend it that much, but for next time I’ll know better.

P1020411-1

P1020410-1

At least for right now. I have food for days….

Leave a Reply

