Book Review: Hunger Games

220px-HungerGamesPoster
So unlike the rest of the world I had not read the Hunger Games obsessively and was eagerly anticipating the movie until recently. My co-worker finally worked me down to have me pick up at least the first book to start. I finished the first book in a week and am are already calculating when I can pick up the rest of the series because I want to find out what happens ( please don’t spoil it for me!)

I love Katniss’s strength and how she sees everything just as it is. I agree with quite a few people that although the story line is a good concept, I would not want to be in the Hunger Games and have to kill fellow kids my age let alone live in a society like that. I saw the movie twice this week once by myself and then with KonaBoy cause he really wanted to see it. I LOVED the movie! I really appreciated that it was not in 3D because in my opinion the quality of the cameras and the angles made it look so real that I think that having it in 3D would have made the movie fall flat. I didn’t recognize Lenny Kravitz as Cinna, but thought he did an amazing job and very relatable. I did think that some of the casting for the participants in the Hunger Games fell short for me. I had pictured many of the characters differently, no I’m not upset that the characters from District 11 were black that actually made me quite happy. I especially liked the rebellion scene in District 11 after Rue dies. I have not finished the other books in the series yet, but in my opinion I think that Hollywood may want to rethink some of their casting for future movies like this. As stated earlier, I pictured several of the participants differently and with a bit more of an ethnic flair. Just something to consider.KonaBoy really enjoyed this movie and we can’t wait to see the next ones in the series.

Want to hear a funny story though? I had heard about the Hunger Games series last year from someone and picked it up for my friend who loves reading as a Christmas gift. She started reading the first book and was immediately hooked. She then made her fiancee go out and repurchase the series for her because she liked all of her books to look the same and preferably in hardback. She has not seen the movie and probably won’t cause she believes that books ruin the movies.

One thought on “Book Review: Hunger Games

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Catching Fire and MockingJay « GreySkySaturday

Leave a Reply

