Book Review: A Total Waste of Makeup

makeup

I apologize that this review is late and that I’ve been slacking on reviews lately. There are quite a few posts that I need to put together for you, but I’ve just been slacking lately. Now I’m motivated to write and put up posts so let’s get into this review.

I found this book in  the bargain book section of Barnes & Noble. Yes, I quite often frequent that section when I’m in that store, but that besides the point. I found the title intriguing so I picked up the book along with some other and it sat neglected in a pile for at least a year. I do apologize to all the books I haven’t read yet, I am getting to you and trying not to attract more books!

A Total Waste of Makeup  by Kim Gruenenfelder is the story of 29 year old Charlie Edwards who is a personal assistant to a major Hollywood star. The story begins with Charlie sitting at home on a weekend and she is composing what starts out as a letter to her great-grandniece about how to navigate the world of men. Charlie is feeling sorry for herself because her younger sister is getting married, she works for a major Hollywood playboy star, she’s chronically single, and while she’s glamorous and surrounded by amazing friends can’t seem to find a sparkle of amazingness in her life to keep her going all the time. At the end of the book Charlie finishes the letter by writing:
“I was never Jennifer Aniston. I never cooked as well as Julia Child, wrote as well as Leo Tolstoy, was as funny as Lucille Ball, or as rich as Oprah Winfrey. I was never as beautiful as Beyonce, as famous as  Princess Diana, as good of an actress as Meryl Streep, as driven for a cause as Elizabeth Cady Stanton. I’m pretty  sure I never learned physics, or how to speak chinese. and I can almost guarantee you I never figured out new math. but I got to go through this life, and this century as me. and that’s a hell of a lot more than I ever dreamed.
Well, great-granddaughter, I hope reading my book has inspired you to write a book of your own, for your great-granddaughter. I only wish I could ask you this question because I’m dying to know: what will you write?”

I loved this book because it was open and honest. It took a hard look at single women everywhere and put it bluntly into a hilariously funny book that I think every women could relate to and enjoy. I think a lot of us have been there and can relate to what Charlie Edwards is going through. I highly recommend that you read this book. I often had a hard time putting it down at night. I’ll definitely be checking out a few of Kim Gruenenfelder’s other books

One thought on “Book Review: A Total Waste of Makeup

Leave a Reply

