Movie Review: Invictus

invictus

This movie is several years old, but since I finally saw it all the way through I thought that I would do a review on the film. I was lucky enough to be able to see this for free since my workplace did a showing of it.  It was a great movie night, even though it was slightly longer than we had originally planned.

Invictus is a movie about Nelson Mandela’s first term in office and how he got the people of South Africa to begin the road to forgiveness and begin to bond together as a country by using the World Cup of rugby as a focal point of the story. The film stars Morgan Freeman as Nelson Mandela and Matt Damon as the captain of the rugby team. If those two reasons alone don’t get you to watch the movie I’m not sure what will.

The movie is historical, but the underlining story line that was created by the script does not make the movie boring. KonaBoy was even able to come with me to the movie showing and was excited to find out that the movie was Invictus. When I say I finally made it through this movie is because the first time I watched this movie was on a plane and I honestly could not keep my eyes open for most of the movie and was very upset that I missed most of the movie.

If you haven’t seen this movie yet I definitely recommend it. If you have already seen it I would love to hear your thoughts.

One thought on “Movie Review: Invictus

  1. Thanks for the movie recommendation! I missed this one when it first came out, but will have to rent it and give it a try. I normally love anything with Morgan Freeman or Matt Damon in it, so I’m sure I’ll love this one too.

    Mendi @ Her Late Night Cravings

Leave a Reply

