Book Review: Perks of Being a Wallflower

wallflower

I recently finished reading Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I wanted to finish this book and post this review earlier, so that I could link up with the Blogger book club that Alyx hosts, but it did not happen. Yet here is my review on the book. I have not seen the movie yet and when I do I shall do a review.

The book is the story of Charlie in the time span of one school year. He begins the story at the end of his eighth grade year, just after his friend commits suicide and journeys through the high school graduation that year.  In his first year of high school Charlie struggles to fit in and find his place in the world. He deals with being alone until he befriends Sam and Patrick and meets their friends.

Here are my thoughts on the book. I did not love the book and I wished that I had borrowed it rather than bought it. The book itself is written in a series of letter to someone that Charlie calls friend and the reader never finds out who that is other than the fact that it is someone that he went to school with at one time. While I was reading the book, I put together that Charlie had some kind of disorder, but could not quite put together what he had, so I was left wondering the entire book what was wrong with him. The author also in some regard puts Charlie through a huge year of turmoil  which is more than most teenagers go through in a school year. The part that I clearly did not understand was the ending of the book. In my opinion the book stops at a crucial point where Charlie just figured out something huge in his life and did not know how to deal with it and the author closes the book with Charlie telling the person he’s writing to that he isn’t going to write anymore. WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT? IS IT ANTICIPATION? AM I SUPPOSE TO BE WAITING FOR PART 2? WHAT?!? I was left with a book that stopped whose author could not bother to continue writing the story and yet this is a New York Times Bestseller.

On a side note though, the book does have quite a few good quotes like this one below:

tumblr_lsomj3CTde1qbpwzeo1_500_large

I hope that you enjoyed my review and I will see you again soon. Don’t forget to tell your friends that I’m posting every day for National Blogposting Month!

One thought on “Book Review: Perks of Being a Wallflower

Leave a Reply

