Book Review: Dear John

MV5BMTk1NDEzMTU5NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTI3MTk5Mg@@._V1._SY317_

First off I’d like to state that the above picture is not one of mine. I took it from the IMDB website because this time I have been too lazy to take my own picture and I thought that this book review should go up sooner than later.

I actually finished this book a few weeks ago, but my life has been getting in the way of me blogging. If you haven’t read my last post please do so, it explains at least some things that have been going on.  I used to be a HUGE fan of Nicholas Sparks back in 2001 right after A Walk to Remember came out. I read all of his books up to that point and a few after, but lately he had fallen off my radar. When I saw this book in the used bookstore I knew I had to take the chance on him again. I have not seen the movie yet, so my views haven’t been swayed yet. Although it can’t be a completely horrible movie if Channing Tatum is in it.

Back to the book…the story is about John Tyree an army solider that returns to his hometown for the summer and realizes that he has changed from his old life. One day at the beach he rescues Savannah Curtis’s purse and falls in love instantly. He and Savannah begin dating and within a few dates John asks Savannah to wait for him until his tour is over, she says that she will. John leaves on his tour of duty and just as he about to return September 11 strikes and emotions are running high throughout the world and the USA. In the heat of the moment, John signs up for a second tour. While, Savannah realizes that signing up for a second tour was the right thing to do, she can’t help but feeling a bit hurt and after a while distance takes a toll on them as a couple and eventually she writes him a letter saying that she met someone else.  A few years past and John takes a leave after his father passes away and decides that he needs to find Savannah to close the chapter on their love for each other.  What he finds is not what he expects at all.

I won’t give you the ending because that would be telling too much of the story. I will say that like many Nicholas Sparks novels this one will leave you in tears and break your heart. It will also show you the meaning of humility, compassion, and real love. If you have not already read this book I definitely recommend reading it and if you have seen the movie at least give the book a chance.

P.S. Don’t worry I have a few more book reviews to get to you before the end of the year I hope so stayed tuned!

Leave a Reply

