Hawaii: Lanikai Pillbox Hike

I feel like such a failure for not posting for a month and a half. However my life has been crazy, but that really is no excuse! I have drafted a whole ton of posts during the month of June, so hopefully *fingers crossed* that within the coming weeks I will have all these posts up. Now back to the post at hand…Star Wars Boy recently moved to Hawaii and had not really gotten to see anything yet. 2 weeks ago we finally got a chance to meet up when I invited him to do the Lanikai Pillbox Hike with me.

The Lanikai Pillbox hike like all hikes on the island of Oahu are all approved by the Hawaii hiking club, meaning that you are hiking where people have already hiked and it has been made relatively safe (You can’t control nature completely!) The Pillbox hike commonly known as Pillboxes located in Lanikai is rated as a beginners hike and is approximately 2 miles. As a warning it is 2 miles nearly straight uphill! I loved this hike and have been dying to go back again ever since. Here’s a few pictures from the hike:
d28ef3a2-379f-4120-bcfe-391ea8eea5aa_zps908d839e

The sign at the beginning of the hike. The beginning of the hike is located in a neighborhood , so parking close can be a pain in the butt, however if you are willing to walk a ways you can park closer to the beach park which is located down the hill.
48503eef-0989-45f3-b124-9b2f3a467ad3_zps1547374f

2560bd24-f361-4d63-a398-3192ccf22efe_zps3c373534
The two above pictures are the view from about halfway up and a picture of me with the amazing view from one side. The view on the otherside is the mountain and the valley which is pretty but not as pretty as the ocean. I know I look like a crazy person, but that tends to happen when I’m hiking. I wish that I had taken pictures of the Pillboxes because they have some pretty amazing graffiti and that’s saying something. In case you are wondering what a Pillbox is it is a military bunker that severed as a lookout point on the mountain. These particular bunkers were last used during World War II  I think. Hopefully in the future I’ll bring you another post on the Lanikai Pillbox Hike with more pictures of the Pillboxes.

Thanks for visiting and I hope to see you again soon!

Leave a Reply

