Book Review: The Lost Symbol

d29fdec3-b760-4b5d-bc38-0d3d11949436_zpse4fcc2e3
So I’m finally back at blogging again, hopefully a life update will come later this week. For now though I am finally doing a book review on a book I completed this year. Better late than never, which means that I will be one book closer to my Goodreads goal for the year. I’ve been seriously been slacking (poor abandoned books) Today’s review though is on Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol. The third book in the Robert Langdon series.

This book takes place nearly 2 years or so after Angels and Demons and yet still after The Da Vinci Code. There’s also another Robert Langdon book out as I’m writing this entitled Inferno, which is also on my reading list. The third installment takes place in Washington D.C. mainly over the course of one night for Robert Langdon and several others days for the other characters. Robert Langdon has received an invitation to speak at the Capital, but when he arrives he finds that the speaking engagement does not exists and instead he is thrown into a manhunt and treasure hunt around Washington D.C. that all begins with a severed hand laying on the Capital Rotunda floor.

I’ll try not to give too much away since I suspect that there are a few people out there that have not read this book yet. Robert Langdon is determined to save the life of his friend Peter Solomon, whose’s hand has been found on the Capital floor. On his journey, he is joined by Peter’s sister Katherine Solomon who finds that she must not only save her brother’s life, but her life’s work as well. Robert and Katherine’s journey to save Peter has them listening to a madman’s request to solve the treasure map of the Freemason’s and find the treasure and deliver to the people of the world.

I had forgotten how short Dan’ Brown’s chapters are and he kept me turning pages and wanting to read more. I did brush up on the back history of Robert Langdon before I started the book. I loved how this book kept you guessing who the madman was until the final chapters. I found the ending satisfying, but sad in a way and I can not wait to read the next book in the Robert Langdon series. If you have not read any of Dan Brown’s book, please try it out! *Fingers crossed * I’ll be back with another post for you tomorrow!

One thought on “Book Review: The Lost Symbol

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Inferno

Leave a Reply

