Book Review: The Giver

faaecbc7-b4dd-4183-b91a-c9c71db622b3_zps1c831bc2

I recently picked up and read The Giver by Lois Lowry. No judgement please! This was my first time reading the book, since I had not read this book as a child. I spent too much time reading Baby-Sitters’ Club and other fluffy series books that to be bothered with something serious. I regret not reading more serious books when I was younger!

I know that this book has already been made into a movie and a review on the movie will come at a later date. I have also researched and found that The Giver is the first book in a series of books on communities such as this. Enough with my ramblings, though and on with the book review!

The story revolves around a boy named Jonas and his life. Jonas as grown up in a community where there is an absence of everything that makes us unique ( our hair color, skin color, feelings, the clothes we wear,etc…) As Jonas is about to finish his twelfth year he goes through a ceremony in which each member of his class will get their Life Assignment. In the ceremony, Jonas is given a special assignment known as the Receiver of Memory. Jonas is a bit wary at the beginning of his assignment  about what it will entail and when he meets the person known as the Giver he is put at easy. As Jonas continues learning and working with the Giver he finds that the life he knew before was very boring and comes to find that he does not want to go back to it. He and the Giver work out a plan for Jonas to leave the community and travel to another community.  On the night that Jonas is suppose to leave, things go awry and Jonas has to complete the journey on his own.

This book is pretty fast paced and left me turning page after page wanting to read more every night. This book also made me wish that I had read this book when I was younger, so that when the movie came out I could have seen it right away. I can not wait to see the movie and see how certain scenes were portrayed and how it ends. The ending of the book is hopeful, but does not give you a precise ending.

Let me know if you have read this book or any of the other books in the series and what you thought of it. I have *fingers crossed* an exciting flurry of posts for you in the next few weeks.

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

