Movie Review: Friends with Benefits

Hey!
I know that I’ve been posting quite a bit of movie reviews lately, but I guess that it is good that I’m working through my Netflix Queue right? Don’t worry though I hope to be changing it up with a few link-up parties each week, I’ll get more into this in another post.

I purchased this movie a while ago for itunes. I can’t even remember which trip I was leaving going on when I purchased it. I have rented movies from itunes in the past when I know I’m going to be on a longer flight than normal.

I’d seen this movie floating around for a while since it came out in 2011. It stars Justin Timberlake, right about the time he started concentrating on his acting career was doing more movies than singing. It was also stars Mila Kunis, who has pretty good acting chops in her own right. It also has a slew of guest appearances one of which includes Pro Snowboarder Shaun White.

In the movie, Justin Timberlake stars as Dylan Harper,a small time magazine editor who is recruited for the big time by Jamie Rellis played by Mila Kunis. When they first meet Jamie has to convince Dylan to move across the country and take a job in New York City. Dylan is nearly convinced that he won’t take the job, but Jamie tells him that if he genuinely wasn’t interested he wouldn’t have flown across the country just to say no. Dylan ends up taking the job in New York and for a long while, Jamie is the only person in New York that he knows, so that end up hanging out and becoming friends. One night, they decide to let it happen and when it wasn’t so bad. They decide that the experience can be repeatable until they both agree to end it. After a hard breakup with a boyfriend and getting ditched by her mother for the holidays, Jamie begs Dylan to take her to home to California for Thanksgiving weekend. While, there things get really personal with Jamie and Dylan and Jamie ends up leaving in a huff and Dylan doesn’t understand why.Dylan eventually realizes that he has feelings for Jamie and comes out with a showstopping ending.

I like this movie and probably have watched it more than I care to admit. Although if you compare it to a similar movie that came out the same year, No Strings Attached, you will find that the later has a better story line. Sorry, Justin Timberlake. Friends with Benefit does have a killer soundtrack that will have you dancing through the movie if you do that kind of thing…. I hope to see you in another post very soon!

Leave a Reply

