Movie Review: The Oxford Murders

Hey!
I know that I’ve been posting quite a bit of movie reviews lately, but I guess that it is good that I’m working through my Netflix Queue right? I put this movie in my queue mainly because it stars Elijah Wood, who has one of the prettiest eyes in the industry. Oh and once upon a time I did a thing called Scaretober for October. It’s all the way back in 2013 and have often thought about doing it again, but I just have not gotten around it yet.

In this movie which came out in  2008, Elijah Wood stars as an American exchange student named Martin. Martin comes to Oxford University because he thinks that he can work with Dr. Arthur Seldom for his Masters thesis. Martin attempts to manipulate the universe into working in his favor, by staying at Dr. Seldom’s longtime friend’s house, and stalking his favorite haunts. Martin finally gets a chance to meet Dr. Seldom when he attends one of Dr. Seldom’s lecture. At the lecture he asks Dr. Seldom to justify his position on the fact that the universe is random because Martin himself believes that everything in the universe is predictable and mathematical. Dr. Seldom dismisses his theory and Martin realizes that coming to Oxford University to study with Dr. Seldom is a mistake. Just as Martin is about to leave his land lady and Dr. Seldom’s friend is murdered. The movies goes on to do a long arduous tale about how the first murder is part of a series of murders. At the last moment there is a slight twist in the ending, but not really.

I actually was not going to post this review because I nearly stopped watching the movie. Not only was the movie not scary, but at times I felt it was so boring that the director could have cut half the story and still had a great movie. The slight twist at the end of the movie didn’t even save the movie that much. The one slightly saving grace about the movie is when they show the Guy Fox concert and celebration (November 5) with all the concert goers dressing up.

If you have seen this movie, let me know what you have thought about it. I hope to see you soon with another post.

Leave a Reply

