Movie Review: Holiday Engagement

image courtesy imdb

Hey!
I know that I’ve been posting quite a bit of movie reviews lately, but I guess that it is good that I’m working through my Netflix Queue right? As Christmas approaches I tend to binge watch Christmas movies like no other, I think it might be worse than people’s obsession with Halloween movies from ABC Family. When you search Christmas movies on Netflix you will find everything under the sun. I’ve probably watched them all by now.

I have no idea why I am such a sucker for Christmas movies, but I am. I think that this year I will need to find a copy of Home Alone and Home Alone 2 and add those to my watch list. Today I’m going to be talking about Holiday Engagement . This movie was probably a made for tv movie that stars Shelley Long and Haylie Duff as the big stars in this rather unknown cast.

The plot of the movie is rather simple. Hilary Burns is a reporter that just before Thanksgiving becomes unemployed because her newspaper shuts down and in addition to that her fiance,Jason,  of 2 months freaks out and dumps her. Hilary has promised her family that her fiance will be coming home with her for Thanksgiving. Since, Hilary can’t bear to tell her mother that she is no longer engaged she decides that the next best thing will be to find someone online to play her fiance for the weekend. To make matters worse, Hilary who is so excited about the holidays has even won a trip to Playa del Carmen as a radio station prize and now she can’t bear to go alone. Hilary picks a relatively normal guy to play her fiance for the weekend. David is actually a delinquent actor that is still in love with his ex-girlfriend. As soon as Hilary get home with David playing Jason, she is pressured by her mom to start planning her wedding, so she picks a date close to Christmas. Her mom gets even more crazy and begins planning her wedding without her consent. During Thanksgiving dinner at a mexican restaurant, since her dad ruined the turkey for the original Thanksgiving dinner. David playing Jason almost blows his cover when he runs into an old acquaintance.

I won’t give away the ending since as far as Christmas movies go, everything turns out happily ever after.  Psst….though Hilary ends up marrying David in a super cute wedding at the ending. I like the modern twist on this story line. I thought that Haylie Duff’s character as the older sister was well done .

If you enjoy Christmas movies as much as I do, I hope that you’ll check this movie out. If you have any recommendations for Christmas movies that I should watch let me know and I’ll try and add it to my list. I hope to see you soon, maybe in my next post.

Leave a Reply

