Movie Review:Silver Bells


image courtesy imdb

Hey!
I know that I’ve been posting quite a bit of movie reviews lately, but I guess that it is good that I’m working through my Netflix Queue right? As Christmas approaches I tend to binge watch Christmas movies like no other, I think it might be worse than people’s obsession with Halloween movies from ABC Family. When you search Christmas movies on Netflix you will find everything under the sun. I’ve probably watched them all by now.

I have no idea why I am such a sucker for Christmas movies, but I am. I think that this year I will need to find a copy of Home Alone and Home Alone 2 and add those to my watch list. Today I’m going to review Silver Bells, which is only up on Netflix for a few more days when this review is going up, so sorry about that!

This movie is about Bruce Dalt, who is the sports anchor for the tv station in that area. After an incident with a referee at his son’s high school basketball game, he is forced to pay restitution and do community service with the Salvation Army. It takes Bruce a good part of the movie to realize the true spirit of Christmas is in giving. Bruce finally realizes that the season is about giving and just before Christmas finally gets to meet the Heisman Trophy winner and convinces him to do an exclusive interview with his station. Even though Bruce ends up not being the one to interview him, he is still proud that he convinced him to finally do an interview. In the end, Bruce finally realizes how important giving is and by giving back and helping people he finds a bit more about himself and eventually gets his old job back.

This movie was cute and a bit of a different take on it’s a wonderful life. On that note, it was a bit cheesy and I don’t think that I would watch it again, but it was fun to watch this time around. If you haven’t watched this you should definitely check this out for a modern take on it’s a wonderful life.

I hope to see you soon possibly in another post!

Leave a Reply

