Movie Review: The Christmas Card


image courtesy imdb

Hey!
I know that I’ve been posting quite a bit of movie reviews lately, but I guess that it is good that I’m working through my Netflix Queue right? As Christmas approaches I tend to binge watch Christmas movies like no other, I think it might be worse than people’s obsession with Halloween movies from ABC Family. When you search Christmas movies on Netflix you will find everything under the sun. I’ve probably watched them all by now.

I have no idea why I am such a sucker for Christmas movies, but I am. I think that this year I will need to find a copy of Home Alone and Home Alone 2 and add those to my watch list. Today I’m going to be talking about The Christmas Card from 2006. 

The story opens with a woman named Faith Spelman writing a Christmas card as a gesture of goodwill for her church to men serving in Afghanistan over the holidays. U.S. Sargent Cody Cullen who receives her card needs to deliver the bad news to a soldier’s family in a neighboring town. While in the town, he by chance happens to meet the woman who wrote him the Christmas card before knowing who she is. Cody Cullen attends the church that sent him the Christmas card. After saving Faith’s dad’s,Luke, life he is asked to stay for dinner. Cody admits to Luke that he came to town to find Faith and to thank her for the Christmas card and maybe more. Cody ends up staying with Faith’s family longer and he and Faith end up bonding. When Faith and Cody kiss for the first time, Faith  gets second thoughts about her relationship with her boyfriend. Cody leaves early on Christmas morning without really saying goodbye to the family. He leaves a Christmas card for Luke & his wife to show  them the way to their Christmas present, a bench he built for them to sit at their favorite spot. There he leaves a note for Faith telling her how he has fallen in love with her more than once. The movie closes with Faith and Cody together at the Vietnam Memorial near Nevada City.

If you enjoy Christmas movies as much as I do, I hope that you’ll check this movie out. If you have any recommendations for Christmas movies that I should watch let me know and I’ll try and add it to my list. I hope to see you soon, maybe in my next post.

Leave a Reply

