Hawaii: Mighty Mo Adventure

0117161721a

Hey!

I know that it has been a while since I’ve written a post here. I have been making youtube videos on a pretty regular basis, which is good in that sense but that also means that I’ve been slacking on my resolutions. I had been hoping on doing a resolutions for the new year post, but it’s been a while so maybe I won’t.

I really came to post about the adventure I went on this past weekend. So crazy enough living in Hawaii all these years I have never been to visit the U.S.S. Missouri. It has only been docked in Hawaii officially since January 29, 1999. For work, the Boy and I had the opportunity to participate as chaperones for the Overnight Encampment Program. Our program started Sunday afternoon and went until Monday morning. Our coordinator Neal, was super knowledgeable about the history of the U.S.S. Missouri and World War II in general. As you will see from the photo stream below ( I apologize for this post being image heavy) The ship is pretty amazing and has an amazing history!0117161655 a semi panorama view of the U.S.S. Missouri from the dock
0117161709
view of Pearl Harbor from the ship
0117161721

0117161738

a photo of the official surrender
0117161741

copies of the documents of surrender
0117162019plaque where the official surrender documents were signed. According to Neal, this is the second piece of glass that was put in on the ship since the first one was damaged in combat since the ship went through several wars since it was first installed.

0117161800
The sunset from the ship was absolutely amazing. The photo at the beginning of this post was also a picture of the sunset.
0117161809
0117161809a

We helped to bring down the flag for the day.
0117161816

We also helped to fold the flag up for the day.
0117161909
0117162004

models of the ship aboard the ship
0118160800
0118160800a
0118160800b

We also had the opportunity to raise the flag the next day.

If you are ever in Hawaii I highly recommend that you go and check out the U.S.S. Missouri. The tour and everything we got to do was really amazing! I was super enthralled with the history of the ship.Also to note, I probably at some point will do a post on the U.S.S. Arizona Memorial and the rest of Pearl Harbor since we talked about going back to play tourist. I hope that you enjoyed this post and that I will see you in another one very soon!

4 thoughts on “Hawaii: Mighty Mo Adventure

  1. Pingback: 5 things on a Friday 1.22.16

  2. Pingback: 5 Oahu sites in Hawaii

Leave a Reply

