Movie Review: Zoolander 2

Hey!
So…I’m back today with yet another movie review. I am working on real posts, but work has been getting the best of me, so please bear with me as I do a few more review posts in the coming weeks. Today though I’m going to talk about Zoolander 2. As of now this movie is not really in theaters, but maybe that’s better since you could rent it at Red Box when it comes out for $3.00 or wait even longer and watch it on Netflix for rather pennies.

I admit that when Zoolander came out in 2001, it was a thing, a full world wide sensation. The sequel probably should have been made sooner. Yes, I’m old enough to say that the first time I ever experienced Starbucks that I may have actually tried to order an Orange Mocha Frappuccino. Yes, I have probably tried to use the Blue Steel pose regularly, but it still has not moved a ninja star. All that being said. This movie looked tired and worn out, it tried way way too hard to recreate the jokes from the last movies in a generation that does not get those jokes or have the same humor that was over a decade ago.

I’m not going to recount the plot of the movie for you tons of other review sites will do that. The playing out of the number of celebrities to died via social media using Blue Steel or the number of celebrity cameos in this movie is ridiculous. I’ll  admit that the message of the movie (plus sized models) is a good one, but it is not loud enough to be heard over the poor cries of the many movie goers wanting their money back.

I would highly recommend that you wait for this movie to come out on Netflix if you still really want to see it or even wait for it to come on tv. I’m glad that the main original cast members came back to do this movie, but the poorly written script doesn’t make up for the talent in it.

I hope to see you in another post very soon!

 

One thought on “Movie Review: Zoolander 2

Leave a Reply

