Movie Review: Suicide Squad

Hey..
I know that it has been a hot minute since I posted here. I’m trying to get on a better schedule of posting here and also with the content. Right now though I want to review Suicide Squad for you. I’ll tell you right off the bat that the killer cast and the built in audience from the comic book scene was ripe for this movies picking. I’m also going to spoil this movie for you a little by telling you that if you have seen Batman vs. Superman  this movie also ties into the DC universe. *Justice League is coming
Overall though if you have seen the excellent Marvel movies then you will once again be disappointed by the script of this movie. Much like Batman vs. Superman the movie contains a few too many flashback scenes and not enough of a single story line. Seriously, why was Enchantress building the machine to destroy the human race? Also there are things that seem inconsistent with the comic book storyline. I’m not a serious comic book fan, so I can’t tell you in detail but certain things seem inconsistent such as Joker & Harley Quinn’s romance, Enchantress’s backstory and the whole Amanda Waller character.

The movie is visually appealing if you are just going for that factor and the soundtrack is killer so it’s not horrible to sit through. You will be bothered by the storyline and how there are incredible holes and flaws throughout the movie including the end scene which has become so typical of comic book movies. In this scene, Batman is having a sit down with Amanda Waller and says that he and his superhero friends will take care of everything. Amanda Waller then gives him of the files for Aquaman, Wonder Woman, and Enchantress. Does this mean Enchantress isn’t actually dead as it would have appeared to be when Suicide Squad ended? I’m so confused. I guess I’ll have to wait to find out in the next movie.

I hope you didn’t hate me too much for this post and that you’ll come back soon!

Leave a Reply

