Scaretober- Movie Review: Cujo

octoberbanner

Hey!
For the month of October I’ve dubbed it Scaretober in which I will be blogging every day in October. No, it’s not just random blogs in October but specifically scary movies movies. I’m definitely not one of those girls that enjoys scary movies by any means in fact this is a HUGE challenge for me since I’m such a wimp when it comes down to it. Some of the movies reviewed will be super scary and others will just be 90’s cheesy scary compared to today’s standards. There will be a few days during this month that I will be putting up more than one posts, because sometimes you can’t hold any awesome back when it comes to the blog.

Today’s movie is Cujo.

 
image courtesy imdb.com

I heard about this movie for sometime, so I’m glad that this movie based on the the Stephen King novel finally made it here. This movie was released in 1983 so it definitely still had that 80s vibe, but is still worth watching.

This movie is mainly about a Saint Bernard named Cujo. At the beginning of the film Cujo is chasing a wild rabbit across a field when the rabbit wanders into a hole infested with bats. Cujo is so determined to catch the rabbit that he sticks his head into the hole and ends up getting bitten by a rabid bat. Cujo’s owner, Brett Chamber does not think anything of Cujo’s bite mark  until he and his mother are leaving for a trip. Brett’s father, Joe Chamber notices Cujo’s bite mark, but does not realize that anything is wrong with Cujo until moments before Cujo is mauling him. Hours after Cujo has killed Joe Chamber does a mother and son show up to have their car fixed. Cujo approaches the car dripping with blood, while the mother and son are forced to stay inside. Since the car has stalled out the mother and son are forced to stay in Cujo’s presence and try to survive through the elements.

I will keep to my promise and not spoil this movie entirely. I will tell you that though this movie definitely has scary elements and probably would scare a someone who already is not so keen on dogs it did not stop me from watching it. I hated the movie for all the people who were unkind to Cujo before he went completely rabid. He probably could have been taken care of and this might not have to the mother and son. I also was not so keen on the story behind the mother and son. I felt that it was extremely unnecessary to waste so much movie time on the mother straying in her marriage and the son being so afraid of things that go bump in the night. Overall, I’m glad that I watched this movie.

I hope that you will keep following along with this Scaretober series to see what other movies I review. See you soon!

 

Leave a Reply

