Scaretober-Movie Review:The Forgotten

octoberbanner

Hey!
For the month of October I’ve dubbed it Scaretober in which I will be blogging every day in October. No, it’s not just random blogs in October but specifically scary movies movies. I’m definitely not one of those girls that enjoys scary movies by any means in fact this is a HUGE challenge for me since I’m such a wimp when it comes down to it. Some of the movies reviewed will be super scary and others will just be 90’s cheesy scary compared to today’s standards. There will be a few days during this month that I will be putting up more than one posts, because sometimes you can’t hold any awesome back when it comes to the blog.

Today’s movie is The Forgotten


image courtesy imdb.com

Hey!
I had tried to watch this movie last Scaretober, but that had not quite worked out. Perhaps I just wasn’t ready for it, so that’s why it fell into this year’s Scaretober. This movie stars Gary Sinise and Julianne Moore. I swear this movie should not be as scary as I make it out to be since there are quite a few plot holes.

The movie opens with Julianne Moore’s character, Tully grieving the loss of her young son. It does not tell you how long she has been grieving, but that it has been a significant amount of time. Tully even goes to see her therapist played by Gary Sinise, who after a few sessions does not believe that she ever had a son. Tully remembers that she had a son and all the things he said and did. She knows that she does not have memory lapses, but soon it begins to appear that she never had a son in the first place. Tully is determined to prove that she had a son and convinces  one of the parents of her son’s friend that he had a daughter who also died in the same accident as her son. Tully and this friend soon go on a wild goose chase which leads them to have the NSA follow them trying to convince them that the whole incident never happened.

I won’t tell you how the movie ends, but I did find it very suspicious and strange that the movie would automatically jump back to the months before the accident when Tully’s son was still alive and playing on the playground. I was probably did not watch this movie initially because of the way the trailer was setup , I expected there to be more to the story. I was disappointed that the movie ended with such holes. Perhaps, they were trying to set it up for a sequel.

I hope that you will keep following along with this Scaretober series to see what other movies I review. Also if you have any movies that you would like to to review for Scaretober, let me know I would love to add them to the list. See you soon!

 

Leave a Reply

