Scaretober-Movie Review: Colonia

octoberbanner

Hey!
For the month of October I’ve dubbed it Scaretober in which I will be blogging every day in October. No, it’s not just random blogs in October but specifically scary movies movies. I’m definitely not one of those girls that enjoys scary movies by any means in fact this is a HUGE challenge for me since I’m such a wimp when it comes down to it. Some of the movies reviewed will be super scary and others will just be 90’s cheesy scary compared to today’s standards. There will be a few days during this month that I will be putting up more than one posts, because sometimes you can’t hold any awesome back when it comes to the blog.

Today’s movie is Colonia.


image courtesy imdb.com

I had seen a few previews for this movie and it got me curious, not to mentioned that I had not watched Emma Watson in anything aside from Harry Potter. Sorry, I’ve heard your acting is good though.

Here’s the rundown on the movie:Emma Watson plays a flight attendant named Lena who at the beginning of the movie has gone to Chile on a routine stop and also manages to surprise her boyfriend Daniel who is down there. Daniel appears to be an active protestor against the government of Chile and at one point he is taken away. Lena gets concerned about it and when she goes to the protest group for help they do nothing. Finally, Lena gets advice from a man named Cortez on where Daniel might be. Lena decides to go undercover in the facility known as Colonia Dignidad to rescue Daniel. She believes that this will only take a few days and tells the airline crew not to wait for her. Lena is accepted at Colonia Dignidad and it takes months before she finally finds Daniel.

I will keep to my promise and not spoil this movie entirely. I found parts of this movie creepy and a bit terrifying, but not bloody and gory like some movies that I have watched in this series. I found it more creepy that this movie was based on a true events and that there were actually people that went through this. I would recommend seeing this movie for its thrill factor and to see Emma Watson play a more dramatic character than Hermione. Overall though I would not classify this under thriller or scary movie.

I hope that you will keep following along with this Scaretober series to see what other movies I review. See you soon!

 

Leave a Reply

