Scaretober-Movie Review:The Invitation

octoberbanner

Hey!
For the month of October I’ve dubbed it Scaretober in which I will be blogging every day in October. No, it’s not just random blogs in October but specifically scary movies movies. I’m definitely not one of those girls that enjoys scary movies by any means in fact this is a HUGE challenge for me since I’m such a wimp when it comes down to it. Some of the movies reviewed will be super scary and others will just be 90’s cheesy scary compared to today’s standards. There will be a few days during this month that I will be putting up more than one posts, because sometimes you can’t hold any awesome back when it comes to the blog.
Today’s movie is The Invitation.


image courtesy imdb.com
This movie was suggested to me by Netflix and now that I have read that secret article on the Netflix rating system actually works, I don’t trust Netflix anymore. Netflix, I’m on to you now…

Here’s the rundown on the movie:Will and new his girlfriend are invited to a dinner party at his ex-wife’s house. When he gets to the party in the Hollywood Hills he finds that several of the friends he used to hang out with are there. Once there at the party, his ex-wife,Eden and her new husband are acting very strangely and in fact invite two random friends to the party. In the middle of the party Eden tells everyone about this “cult” called The Invitation and how it has changed her life. After forcing everyone to watch a video on the thoughts on the cult they then play a game called I want which makes one of the guests super uncomfortable and she leaves. As night falls over the house, a red lantern is lit outside and soon Will begins to sense that something is very wrong.

I will keep to my promise and not spoil this movie entirely. This movie was not super scary, but it was definitely suspenseful. I appreciated the movie for its intrigue but overall thought that this was a little too predictable and put together after Will figures out that something is going on. It was quite a twist at the end to see that they weren’t at the only house in the Hollywood Hills having a party of that nature. I wouldn’t watch this for Halloween or put this on any scare list, but it’s a definite artsy film if you are into that.

I hope that you will keep following along with this Scaretober series to see what other movies I review. I apologize that my blog has been having formatting issues, it will all be fixed relatively soon I hope. See you in another post!

Leave a Reply

