Scaretober – Movie Review: The Damned

octoberbanner
Hey!
For the month of October I’ve dubbed it Scaretober in which I will be blogging every day in October. No, it’s not just random blogs in October but specifically scary movies movies. I’m definitely not one of those girls that enjoys scary movies by any means in fact this is a HUGE challenge for me since I’m such a wimp when it comes down to it. Some of the movies reviewed will be super scary and others will just be 90’s cheesy scary compared to today’s standards. There will be a few days during this month that I will be putting up more than one posts, because sometimes you can’t hold any awesome back when it comes to the blog.

Today’s movie is The Damned.


image courtesy imdb.com

I had never heard of this movie before, but when it popped up in my Netflix suggestion box. I knew that I had to give it a chance. By now, we all know my issues with the Netflix suggestions. There are such issues, but I’m not giving up on Netflix just yet.

Here’s the rundown on the movie: The movie opens and closes with a quote about secrets and how it can destroy everything you love. It is poetic, but I can’t find the exact wording anywhere. David and his fiance Lauren fly to Columbia to convince his daughter Jill to come to their wedding the next week. They surprise her at a local restaurant where she is also accompanied by her aunt and her boyfriend. Jill doesn’t have her passport on her and claims that it is at her aunt’s house in the country 6 hours away. The group sets out to retrieve the passport and then head back to America the next morning. As they are driving out to the country it starts to storm and they end up on a road in which the police advise them to turn around and get back onto the highway. The group refuses and after a little while gets lost and then gets into an accident. They manage to make their way to an abandon inn and convince the inn owner to let them stay until the rain passes. The inn owner hesitantly agrees warning the group to stay in the lobby. Jill wanders to find a bathroom and hears a little girl and then urges her father to release her not knowing the circumstances on why she is trapped. After the little girl is released strange things begin to occur.

I will keep to my promise and not spoil the entire movie for you. I thought this movie was very well done. It was actually one of the few that actually scared me to death. The whole ending was horribly terrifying. I actually finished the movie and didn’t speed through it. I recommend that you watch this because if you are pretty wussy like me you will find this movie terrifying and a bit horrifying as well. At least I watched it once!

I hope that you enjoyed following along with the Scaretober series this year. Stay tuned for my wrap-up post coming tomorrow with all my thoughts on this year’s series and my plans for the the future. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

