Book Review: Lola and the Boy next door

Image result for lola and the boy next door
Hey..

I am super excited to be bringing you this book review today! I glad to be done with my scary movie series at least for a while. I still will probably throw in a couple of more movie reviews before the end of the year. I’ll talk about all this some other time if I haven’t already. I’m glad that I’m semi back on track with my reading goals for this year, but depressed that I have fallen super behind on the Paper & Glam book club books. Well, I guess there is always next year 🙂
I picked up this book because the cover looked pretty. I am secretly in love with San Francisco and my last trip there earlier this year made me love it even more. It’s one of those cities I could wander around for hours and never get bored, getting lost well that’s an entirely different story. I also needed a fun read because I had been reading the Paper & Glam October read which was a bit to heavy for me and The Lying Game series, which I’m still in the midst of reading. There will be a new book review or 2 on that coming in a couple of weeks.
I loved getting to know Lola Nolan through wandering the streets of San Francisco in her crazy outfits and going to her high school. I even loved meeting her family which was a breath of fresh air to read about since we live in a society where there are so many mixed crazy family combinations. The family was written about in an honest open way, the way most teenagers and family would talk about their family. I loved falling in love with Lola Nolan as she got reacquainted with Calliope and Cricket Bell and how they are able to move back in next door. I love how Cricket and Lola slowly re-fall in love with each other and how they show their love to each in little gestures.
Sorry that I totally gushed about this book, but I seriously think that you will find this young adult fiction a fast fluffy beach read. You will fall in love with Lola Nolan and the crazy way she expresses herself through clothes. You will enjoy wandering through the San Francisco/ Berkeley area where the entire book takes place. I definitely plan on picking up the rest of the Stephanie Perkins books just to see how the other characters fit into the story. Let me know what you have been reading lately.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Lola and the Boy next door

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Anna & the French Kiss

  2. Pingback: Book Review:Isla and the Happily Ever After

Leave a Reply

