Book Review: Letters from Father Christmas

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51NwzhWkqJL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Hey..

I am super excited to be bringing you this book review today! I hope that I can say that I am writing here more regularly this month. I’m glad that I am nearly back on track with my reading goals for this year and hopefully I’ll be able to read a few more books next year. This selection comes from the Paper & Glam book club and I am glad that LisaMarie and friends chose this book.
This book is a compilation of letters that J.R.R. Tolkien wrote to his children from 1920 -1940. The main compilation includes every letter from 1925-1939. The book is classified as a children’s picture book, but the text of the letters is quite a bit longer than the average picture book. I loved that Tolkien took the time to write to each of his children as Father Christmas telling them about his adventures at the North Pole. I loved the illustrations that accompanied each letter and thought that they were cute and well done for someone who is not known for his illustrations.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking to add a bit more Christmas Spirit to their lives during this season. This book was a short fast read and did not require too much thinking. I loved all the illustrations and loved how each letter seemed to mark a time in history and note what was happening at the time.
What books are on your list for 2017?

Leave a Reply

