Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Image result for harry potter and the cursed child

Hey..
I am super excited to be bringing you this book review today! You may already know that I am continuing the #HPDec this year. If you have not heard of #HPDec don’t worry, it is a relatively new things started by Kristin of My Life as a Teacup a few years ago, here the post she did last year. I started re-reading Harry Potter for #HPDec last year and didn’t quite get to finish, but as you can see this year I am off to a smashing head start.

I finally gave in and bought this book to add to my Harry Potter collection. This was after there was much hype about the London play that came out in July. This book is the script of the play. While, I didn’t have the money or the time off to go see the London production of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child I was eager to swallow this book in one sitting. I did not stand in line with the hordes of people when it came out instead I patiently waited for #HPDec to roll around to pick it up. Don’t worry I already had a ton of feels and watch a few too many book tubers give reviews on this book, so I knew more than my fair share jumping in.

This book picks up exactly where he left Harry Potter and his friends in the epilogue 19 years after Voldemort has been defeated. As mentioned in the epilogue of book 7, Harry and Ginny’s youngest son Albus is having troubles dealing with what house he may get sorted into in his first years at Hogwarts. While, I try not to give spoilers in my reviews this one is a dead giveaway. Albus unlike his siblings is sorted into Slytherin and soon feels ostracized from his family for being sorted into that house. It is also during his first year that he meets his one and only friend Scorpius, son of Draco Malfoy. Did anyone freak out here when it was revealed that Draco wasn’t married to Pansy Parkinson? (I working my way through the series again, but please don’t tell me what happened to her) There was a twinge of disappointment when I found that out.

Albus thinks that his life is so bad that when he finds out his dad and Hermione have confiscated a Time Turner from Theodore Nott , he decides to steal it and try to change the present by changing the past. Albus gets the idea to change the past from his dad’s encounter with Amos Diggory, who is now on his deathbed and supposedly being taken care of by his niece Delphini. Albus and Scorpius travel back to the Tri-Wizard tournament twice and come back twice too a world in which things are mixed up and not as they should be. Once Albus and Scorpius have corrected things in the Tri-Wizard tournament as it was written in history they have no desire to try to help Amos Diggory anymore. Just as they are about to destroy the time turner for good, Delphini intervenes stealing the time turner, killing one of their Hogwarts classmates, and taking them back to once again alter history. After Albus and Scorpius once again thwart Delphini in the final task of the Tri-Wizard tournament, she then uses the time turner to escape them and have them chase her through time. Delphini takes the boys to Goodrich’s Hollow on Halloween of 1981, the night Harry defeated Voldemort the first time. Albus and Scorpius are able to get a message to their parents about where in time they are and the parents are able to meet them in time with the help of Draco. It is in this final sequence that it is reveled that Delphini is actually an Augurey and that she is the daughter of Bellatrix Lestrange and Voldemort. Delphini is arrested and taken to Azkaban where she will be for the rest of her life and for a brief moment Harry is able to see his parents.
There is so much that I hate about this book that I can’t even explain. The writing in this book is disgustingly poor compared to the rest of the series and yes I do know that it is a play that is only based on the Harry Potter characters, but still. The book reads incredibly like fan fiction especially in the way Albus and Scorpius talk to each other. Don’t get me wrong I love the bromance in the story, but at times it is a bit weird even for my taste. While, I do find it plausible that Bellatrix and Voldemort could have a child I don’t buy into the fact that she would try and change time just so that her father could rule or that she would run through time just to meet her father.
Have you read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child? What did you think of it? Let me know your thoughts on this or any other things that you are doing for #HPDec. See you in another post soon!

Leave a Reply

