Book Review: This is where it ends

Hey!

So I never can honestly tell you that I didn’t plan on reading this book, but when it came recommended from a member of a book club I knew that I had to take the time to read it.

You can’t always keep your loved ones with you. You can’t alway settle your life in one place. The world was made to change. But as long as you cherish the memories and make new ones along on the way, no matter where you are , you’ll always be home

I’m back again with yet another book review. I apologize for once again for the plethora of book reviews in such a short period of time. I have fallen in love with reading again and I want to share all the books I read with you.

This book spans the course of one hour in a school day in which four characters narrate their experiences in a school shooting. The story takes place at the beginning of a new school year in Opportunity, Alabama the principal has just finished her beginning of the school year speech when an Tyler Browne, a student who had dropped out of school the previous spring returns to the school with revenge in his eyes. The story of this one hour is narrated through the eyes of his ex-girlfriend Claire; his sister Autumn;Autumn’s best friend and girlfriend Sylvia; and Sylvia’s twin brother Tomás. As we each character for a few minutes at a time, we are taken through each person’s memories of Tyler and things that have led up to this moment. At the end of each chapter, we are given tweets, text messages, and blog posts from various students at the school that are only minor characters in the story.

I can’t talk much more about the synopsis without giving away much more, I will tell you that Tyler does not live through the day, though I can’t say that all the characters live through the day which I am disappointed, but I know that all character deaths happen for a reason. Like several other reviews I have read, I am disappointed not to see what happens to the characters that survive this day. I  wish that that there was an epilogue that talked about what happened in the months and years to come, but the epilogue only takes about what the school did 12 hours after the shooting started. I think this is still a great read if you want to see a play by play account of what happens during a school shooting.

I’ll be back again soon with another post!

Leave a Reply

