Book Review: The Great Gatsby

Image result for the great gatsby
Hey!

Yet again I am back with  yet another book review. At least you know that I am alive and reading if not surviving things. I recently picked up The Great Gatsby , it was one of last year’s reads for the Paper & Glam Book Club, which I’m going to try my best to keep up with this year.

When I began this book I knew that this was one of the most quoted books of the modern age and definitely one of the most celebrated American novels. I have not read a whole lot of classics that I liked let alone read. Below are a few of the most notable quotes from the book:

 “And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer.”

“You see I usually find myself among strangers because I drift here and there trying to forget the sad thing that happened to me.”

“Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall.”

“Do you always watch for the longest day of the year and then miss it? I always watch for the longest day in the year and then miss it.”

I may add to this review later after watching one or more of the Great Gatsby movies, since there are several. I do agree with many of the people that have read the book that this is a literary piece that isn’t necessarily meant for the general masses. Fitzgerald definitely did have a great handle on the literary word and created such beautiful illustrations for readers to fall in love with.

Don’t worry, I’ll have more fluffy or contemporary novel reviews coming your way soon. What have you been reading lately?

Leave a Reply

