Book Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe

StayinBed
Hey!
I’m finally back with another post! After reading Lauren Graham’s autobiography Talking as fast as I can I decided to try reading her book. She wrote her first fictional novel entitled Someday, Someday, Maybe probably a year or so before Gilmore Girls: Year in the Life came out. This review probably won’t be as gushy or as lovely as some of the other reviews you may read on this book.

I’ll be the first to admit that I am not a hardcore Gilmore Girls fan who has watched it from the start. I really do like Gilmore Girls and would probably own at least a few memorabilia if I could. While I adored Lauren Graham’s autobiography since it felt as if I was talking to a friend about her life. I can’t say that I loved the writing of the book.

I loved the fact the Frannie Banks kept a Filofax to record her entries of the acting appointment and you get a glimpse of some of these pages throughout the book. It would definitely feel like my planner if I ever doodled in my planner like that. Although the story flowed pretty well, I didn’t feel drawn into the dialogue or the characters at all. I could relate to Frannie having a deadline for herself and feeling as if she was doing really well and then falling on her face, but her relationship with her roommates didn’t feel genuine.Even her relationship with her father felt a little bit strained and uncomfortable to read at times. I liked the book overall, but wasn’t impressed as some of the other people who have read the book.

If you are a hardcore Gilmore Girls fan I would definitely recommend that you give this book a shot, if you are curious. This book was interesting, but would not be on the top of my to read list or that I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Hopefully I’ll be back soon with another post.Let me know what you have been reading lately.

Leave a Reply

